Levels of Care

As defined by Medicare, there are four levels:


Routine Home Hospice Care

Most hospice patients are managed under this level of care. Hospice team members visit routinely, as determined by your unique needs. We visit patients in their home and assisted living or nursing facility.


Click here to view the nursing and assisted living facilities that Coastal Hospice partners with.


General Inpatient Care (also referred to as symptom management)

When pain and symptom management require intense and/or complex medical care, we provide the inpatient level of care. We contract with area hospitals, but most patients come to Coastal Hospice at the Lake for short-term symptom management.


Continuous Care

Patients may need continuous care during periods of crisis to remain at home. A period of crisis is a time when a higher level of nursing care is required to manage symptoms. In this case the patient does not want to move to an inpatient setting. Care does not have to be "continuous" but usually totals more than eight hours in a day. Routine home care resumes once the patient is comfortable.



Respite Inpatient Care

This helps when a caregiver needs a break from the demands of home care or needs to leave the home for a period of time. We can provide respite care for up to five days. Respite care can be given at a number of nursing facilities and at Coastal Hospice at the Lake.


Coastal Hospice is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that relies on charitable support to provide its programs and services.
Coastal Hospice, Inc. does not exclude people or treat them differently because of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex.
Notice of Nondiscrimination | Español | 繁體中文 | Tiếng Việt | 한국어 | Tagalog | Русский | العربية | Kreyòl Ayisyen | Português | Français | Polski | 日本語 | Italiano | Deutsch | فارسی